Australian Ambassador for Timor Lestle hosts reception for participants at Sub-regional Universities Roundtable on Indonesia-Timor Lestle-Australia Consortium of Academic Partnership (Unram.Undana, Unud,UGM, and Satya Wacana) and Charles Darwin University and University National Timor Lestle and some Private Universities in Dili

Australian Ambassador Peter Doyle hosted an evening reception on 5 May 2014 for participants in the inaugural Sub-regional Universities Roundtable on Indonesia-Timor Lestle and Australian Consortium on Academic Partnership, involving university leaders and rectors from universities in Timor-Leste, Indonesia and the Northern Territory (Charles Darwin University).

Participants were gathered in Dili for the first sub-regional roundtable discussion which aims to foster stronger relationships between institutions in the Northern Territory, Timor-Leste and Eastern Indonesia and explore opportunities for ongoing engagement and collaboration.

Timor-Leste institutions were represented by Professor Aurélio Guterres, Rector of the National University of Timor-Leste (UNTL) and Rector Estanislau S. Saldanha from Dili Institute of Technology (DIT). The head of Timor-Leste’s Mission Unit for Regional Economic Integration, João Gonçalves, also attended the function.

A number of universities from Indonesia were represented including the University of Mataram in Lombok, Universitas Gajah Madah in Yogyakarta, Universitas Kristen Satya Wacana in Central Java, Universitas Udayana in Bali, and Universitas Nusa Cendana in Kupang.

Australian university representatives included Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Charles Darwin University, Professor Sharon Bell, and Victoria University’s Dr Helen Hill.

Mr Doyle welcomed the participants and said he looked forward to the new group putting forward ideas for greater co-operation between institutions from the sub-region, noting the high priority the Australian government placed on identifying opportunities for tri-lateral co-operation.

AED1Ambassador Peter Doyle addresses the reception for Sub-regional Universities Roundtable attendees.
Photo: Australian Embassy Dili


Ayu Kusumastuti, ETELP, Ambassador of Australia Peter Doyle and Professor Suwardji, University of Mataram, and Agnes Nindyarini, ETELP.
Photo: Australian Embassy Dili

Comments are closed.